Information  X 
Enter a valid email address

GlaxoSmithKline PLC (GSK)

  Print      Mail a friend       Annual reports

Friday 03 October, 2014

GlaxoSmithKline PLC

Directorate Change

RNS Number : 4548T
GlaxoSmithKline PLC
03 October 2014


Issued: Friday 3 October 2014, London UK - LSE Announcement



GSK appoints Mr Urs Rohner to its Board as a
Non-Executive Director




GlaxoSmithKline plc (LSE: GSK) today announced the appointment of Mr Urs Rohner to its Board as a Non-Executive Director, effective 1 January 2015. On appointment, Mr Rohner will also become a member of GSK's Remuneration Committee.


Mr Rohner is currently Chairman of Credit Suisse Group AG, one of the world's leading financial services companies.


Commenting on the appointment, Sir Christopher Gent, Chairman of GSK, said:

"I am delighted to welcome Urs to the Board. His broad business background and extensive senior-level experience at multinational companies makes him a great addition to GSK."


Mr Rohner was appointed Chairman of Credit Suisse in 2011 following a number of senior positions at the company including General Counsel and Chief Operating Officer. Before joining Credit Suisse in 2004, he was Chief Executive Officer and Chairman for four years at ProSiebenSat.1 Group, one of the largest independent media corporations in Europe. This followed a number of years in private practice at major law firms in Switzerland and the USA. 



Victoria Whyte

Company Secretary



3 October 2014





1.   As Non-Executive Director of GSK, Mr Rohner will receive standard annual fees of £85,000 per annum.  As for all GSK Non-Executive Directors, in order to enhance the link between directors and shareholders, at least 25% of his fees will be paid in the form of Ordinary Shares and allocated to a share account, and he will be able to invest part or all of the balance of his fees into the same share account.

2.   The Board has determined that Mr Rohner will be an independent Non-Executive Director, in accordance with the UK Corporate Governance Code.

3.    With effect from 1st January 2015, the composition of the Board of GlaxoSmithKline plc will be as    follows:


Sir Christopher Gent

Non-Executive Chairman

Sir Philip Hampton

Non-Executive Director and Chairman Designate

Sir Andrew Witty

Chief Executive Officer

Mr Simon Dingemans

Chief Financial Officer

Dr Moncef Slaoui

Chairman, Global R&D and Vaccines

Professor Sir Roy Anderson

Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Stephanie Burns

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Stacey Cartwright

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Lynn Elsenhans

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Judy Lewent

Independent Non-Executive Director

Sir Deryck Maughan

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Daniel Podolsky

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Tom de Swaan

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Jing Ulrich

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Hans Wijers

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Urs Rohner

Independent Non-Executive Director



GlaxoSmithKline - one of the world's leading research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare companies - is committed to improving the quality of human life by enabling people to do more, feel better and live longer.  For further information please visit



GSK enquiries:

UK Media enquiries:

David Mawdsley

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502


Simon Steel

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502


US Media enquiries:

Stephen Rea

+1 215 751 4394


Sarah Alspach

+1 202 715 1048


Analyst/Investor enquiries:

Ziba Shamsi

+44 (0) 20 8047 5543


Tom Curry

+ 1 215 751 5419


Gary Davies

+44 (0) 20 8047 5503


James Dodwell

+44 (0) 20 8047 2406


Jeff McLaughlin

+1 215 751 7002







Cautionary statement regarding forward-looking statements
GSK cautions investors that any forward-looking statements or projections made by GSK, including those made in this announcement, are subject to risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Such factors include, but are not limited to, those described under Item 3.D 'Risk factors' in the company's Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2013.






Registered in England & Wales:

No. 3888792

Registered Office:

980 Great West Road

Brentford, Middlesex



This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

a d v e r t i s e m e n t