Information  X 
Enter a valid email address

GlaxoSmithKline PLC (GSK)

  Print      Mail a friend       Annual reports

Thursday 26 February, 2015

GlaxoSmithKline PLC

Directorate Change

RNS Number : 9998F
GlaxoSmithKline PLC
26 February 2015



GlaxoSmithKline plc announces changes to its Board



GlaxoSmithKline plc (the 'Company') today announces that Sir Christopher Gent will step down as Chairman of GSK at the Company's Annual General Meeting on 7 May 2015 ('AGM'). He will be succeeded by Sir Philip Hampton with effect from the end of the AGM.


Sir Philip joined GSK's Board as an independent Non-Executive Director on 1 January 2015, and will become Deputy Chairman on 1 April 2015. Sir Philip chairs the Company's Nominations Committee. He will remain Chairman of RBS until 31 August 2015.


In addition, Tom de Swaan, independent Non Executive Director, is not seeking re-election to the Board at the AGM. He has been a Board member for 9 years and is currently Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and a member of the Audit & Risk Committee (of which he was previously Chairman), and the Nominations Committee. A successor for Mr de Swaan as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee will be announced in due course.


Jing Ulrich has decided not to stand for re-election to the Board at the AGM.



V A Whyte

Company Secretary


26 February 2015





With effect from the end of the Company's AGM on 7 May 2015, the composition of the Board of GSK will be as follows:



Sir Philip Hampton                                   Non-Executive Chairman

Sir Deryck Maughan                                Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Sir Andrew Witty                                      Chief Executive Officer

Simon Dingemans                                   Chief Financial Officer

Dr Moncef Slaoui                                      Executive Director, Chairman, Global Vaccines

Professor Sir Roy Anderson                    Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Stephanie Burns                                  Independent Non-Executive Director

Stacey Cartwright                                     Independent Non-Executive Director

Lynn Elsenhans                                        Independent Non-Executive Director

Judy Lewent                                              Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Daniel Podolsky                                   Independent Non-Executive Director

Urs Rohner                                               Independent Non-Executive Director

Hans Wijers                                              Independent Non-Executive Director


This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

a d v e r t i s e m e n t