Information  X 
Enter a valid email address

GlaxoSmithKline PLC (GSK)

  Print      Mail a friend       Annual reports

Wednesday 23 December, 2015

GlaxoSmithKline PLC

Directorate Change

RNS Number : 1012K
GlaxoSmithKline PLC
23 December 2015


GlaxoSmithKline plc (the "Company")


Directorate change



The Company announces that Dr Jesse Goodman has been appointed to the Board of the Company as a Non-Executive Director and Scientific and Medical Expert with effect from 1 January 2016.


Commenting on the appointment, Philip Hampton, Chairman, said "I am delighted that Jesse is joining the Board.


Jesse is a leader in public health who brings a wealth of expertise spanning science, medicine, vaccines, regulation and public health, and has a proven record in addressing pressing public health needs from both the academic and federal sectors, which will be invaluable to GSK. My colleagues and I very much look forward to welcoming him to the Board."


Dr Goodman, currently Professor of Medicine at Georgetown University, previously served in senior leadership positions at the US Food and Drug Administration ('FDA'), including most recently as FDA's chief scientist and previously as Director of the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER).


Dr Goodman currently directs the Georgetown University Center on Medical Product Access, Safety and Stewardship (COMPASS) and is an active clinician who serves as Attending Physician in Infectious Diseases.


He received his degree in Biology from Harvard College, his doctorate from the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and his masters in public health from the University of Minnesota. Dr Goodman is Board Certified in Internal Medicine, Infectious Diseases and Oncology and has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation and to the Institute (National Academy) of Medicine.



V A Whyte

Company Secretary


23 December 2015





1.   Dr Goodman played a leadership role in developing FDA's Regulatory Science Strategic Plan and Medical Countermeasures Initiative and has worked extensively and collaboratively, interacting with industry, academia, government and global public health and regulatory partners to prepare for and respond to major public health threats, including emerging infectious diseases, disasters and terrorism.  He led FDA's response to West Nile Virus and to the 2009 H1N1 influenza pandemic and served on the Senior Leadership Team for the 2010 White House Medical Countermeasure Review. He played a key role in facilitating development of and access to a variety of medical countermeasures, including pandemic influenza vaccines, during his FDA tenure, and served as a member of the Decade of Vaccines Research and Development Working Group, which contributed to the 2012 Global Vaccine Action Plan. He also was appointed by the White House to the US Federal Coordinating Council on Comparative Effectiveness Research. As Senior Advisor to the FDA Commissioner from 1998-9, Dr Goodman co-chaired the US Task Force on Antimicrobial Resistance, producing the first Public Health Action Plan to Combat Antimicrobial Resistance. Prior to joining the FDA, he was Director of the Division of Infectious Diseases and Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota, where he led several clinical studies of new anti-infectives and where his research laboratory isolated Anaplasma phagocytophilum, the causative agent of a new tick borne disease, human granulocytic anaplasmosis.


2.   As Non-Executive Director of GSK, Dr Goodman will receive standard annual fees of £85,000 per annum.  He will also receive a further £30,000 in respect of his additional duties as a Board Scientific and Medical Expert. To enhance the link between Non-Executive Directors and shareholders, at least 25% of his fees will be deducted and at a later date converted into GSK ADSs.


3.   The Board has determined that Dr Goodman will be an independent Non-Executive Director, in accordance with the UK Corporate Governance Code. In addition, the Company confirms that there are no further disclosures to be made in connection with Dr Goodman's appointment in accordance with Listing Rule 9.6.13R.


4.   With effect from 1 January 2016, the composition of the Board of GSK will be as follows:


Sir Philip Hampton        

Non-Executive Chairman

Sir Andrew Witty

Chief Executive Officer

Mr Simon Dingemans

Chief Financial Officer

Dr Moncef Slaoui

Chairman, Global Vaccines

Professor Sir Roy Anderson

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Vindi Banga

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director Designate

Dr Stephanie Burns

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Stacey Cartwright

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Lynn Elsenhans

Dr Jesse Goodman

Independent Non-Executive Director

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Judy Lewent

Independent Non-Executive Director

Sir Deryck Maughan

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Dr Daniel Podolsky

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Hans Wijers

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Urs Rohner

Independent Non-Executive Director




GSK - one of the world's leading research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare companies - is committed to improving the quality of human life by enabling people to do more, feel better and live longer. For further information please visit


GSK enquiries:

UK Media enquiries:

David Mawdsley

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502


Simon Steel

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502


US Media enquiries:

Sarah Alspach

+1 202 715 1048

(Washington, DC)

Sarah Spencer

+1 215 751 3335


Jenni Ligday

+1 202 715 1049

(Washington, DC)

Analyst/Investor enquiries:

Ziba Shamsi

+44 (0) 20 8047 5543


Tom Curry

+ 1 215 751 5419


Gary Davies

+44 (0) 20 8047 5503


James Dodwell

+44 (0) 20 8047 2406


Jeff McLaughlin

+1 215 751 7002



Cautionary statement regarding forward-looking statements

GSK cautions investors that any forward-looking statements or projections made by GSK, including those made in this announcement, are subject to risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Such factors include, but are not limited to, those described under Item 3.D 'Risk factors' in the company's Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2014.


Registered in England & Wales:

No. 3888792

Registered Office:

980 Great West Road

Brentford, Middlesex




This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

a d v e r t i s e m e n t