Information  X 
Enter a valid email address

GlaxoSmithKline PLC (GSK)

  Print      Mail a friend       Annual reports

Thursday 17 March, 2016

GlaxoSmithKline PLC

Directorate Changes

RNS Number : 3959S
GlaxoSmithKline PLC
17 March 2016


GlaxoSmithKline plc (the "Company")


Directorate changes


The Company today announces that Sir Deryck Maughan, Dr Stephanie Burns, Dr Daniel Podolsky and Hans Wijers will not stand for re-election to the Board at GSK's Annual General Meeting on 5 May 2016 (the "AGM").


Sir Deryck has served as Independent Non-Executive Director on the Board since 2004, and from 2013, as the Senior Independent Director. He is a member of the Audit & Risk, Nominations and Remuneration Committees. Dr Burns has served as Independent Non-Executive Director for nine years and is a member of the Corporate Responsibility and Remuneration Committees. Dr Podolsky has served as Independent Non-Executive Director and Scientific & Medical Expert for nine years and is a member of the Audit & Risk and Corporate Responsibility Committees. Hans Wijers will also not stand for re-election at the AGM following the completion of a three year term on the Board as Independent Non-Executive Director. Mr Wijers is a member of the Corporate Responsibility and Remuneration Committees.


Commenting on the changes, Philip Hampton, Chairman of GSK, said:

"These changes follow the usual cycle of Board refreshment.  I would like to thank Deryck, Stephanie, Dan and Hans who have served GSK's Board with distinction for many years and I'm sure will continue to do so until their retirement."


Professor Sir Roy Anderson and Dr Jesse Goodman have been appointed members of the Corporate Responsibility Committee with effect from 1 May 2016.



V A Whyte

Company Secretary


17 March 2016





With effect from the end of the Company's AGM on 5 May 2016, the composition of the Board of GSK will be as follows:



Sir Philip Hampton        

Non-Executive Chairman

Sir Andrew Witty

Chief Executive Officer

Mr Simon Dingemans

Chief Financial Officer

Dr Moncef Slaoui

Chairman, Global Vaccines

Professor Sir Roy Anderson

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Vindi Banga

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Stacey Cartwright

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Lynn Elsenhans

Dr Jesse Goodman

Independent Non-Executive Director

Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Judy Lewent

Independent Non-Executive Director

Mr Urs Rohner

Independent Non-Executive Director





GSK - one of the world's leading research-based pharmaceutical and healthcare companies - is committed to improving the quality of human life by enabling people to do more, feel better and live longer. For further information please visit


UK Media enquiries:

David Mawdsley

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502


Simon Steel

+44 (0) 20 8047 5502


US Media enquiries:

Sarah Alspach

+1 202 715 1048

(Washington, DC)

Sarah Spencer

+1 215 751 3335


Jenni Ligday

+1 202 715 1049

(Washington, DC)

Analyst/Investor enquiries:

Ziba Shamsi

+44 (0) 20 8047 5543


Tom Curry

+ 1 215 751 5419


Gary Davies

+44 (0) 20 8047 5503


James Dodwell

+44 (0) 20 8047 2406


Jeff McLaughlin

+1 215 751 7002



Cautionary statement regarding forward-looking statements

GSK cautions investors that any forward-looking statements or projections made by GSK, including those made in this announcement, are subject to risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. Such factors include, but are not limited to, those described under Item 3.D 'Risk factors' in the company's Annual Report on Form 20-F for 2014.


Registered in England & Wales:

No. 3888792

Registered Office:

980 Great West Road

Brentford, Middlesex





This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

a d v e r t i s e m e n t